Uncategorized

Calvin and Hobbes: A Philosophy of Childhood

ch950101
Calvin and Hobbes: from 1995

I generally refrain from writing intensely personal things on my blog.  I am not afraid of talking personally, but I generally find myself wanting to talk about abstract issues of theology or culture on the blog.  I actually am quite an introspective person (this may or may not be a sign of my generation).  But this comic has provided a time for me to write an autobiographical piece that may help those who read my blog.

Kids, like Calvin above, are willing to do combine anachronistic eras for no other reason than it is cool. Kids have an imagination that adults are often incapable of.  Of course of the weight of a tyrannasarous would crash an F14, but rules of physics do not apply to a child’s mind.  They are able to imagine the impossible.

I find great solace in Calvin and Hobbes because he represents, in many ways, the exploratory imagination of my own childhood.  I would play outside in all sorts of whether alone with a rope.  The rope was my Hobbes. It could be transformed to be a whip to fend off animals as we traveled on an African Safari, or into a whip of power if I was pretending to be a Dark Lord in Star Wars or a place to transport me to the inner part of a cockpit.

I would play with small animals.  They would be wrestlers.  I would watch them come to life as they moved in my hands.  This was serious business.

I was constructing a world of worlds.  In my room, I was learning about the forces of good and evil as I played out scenario’s in my head.

Sometimes I feel this:

calvin_and_hobbes-yawn1

How do I find Hobbes again?  Perhaps it is here:

ch951231

2 thoughts on “Calvin and Hobbes: A Philosophy of Childhood

  1. I feel the exact same way. I’ve been reading Calvin and Hobbes and I can’t help but think about how much I miss my childhood. My imaginary friend, Tiger, would go on adventures with me as I fought off evil wizards and explored my magical mind.

    I too long to retrieve that imagination before I die. I think indulging in the arts and expressing myself will help bring that out once more.

  2. I just spent the past half hour going through my feeder, and nothing was uplifting…they (bloggers) all were overtly or passively aggressively saying, “my opponent sucks.” But this was so nice to read, and actually reminded me how to be a good parent…to remember that my kids think drastically differently than I do…they think like I used to.

Leave a Reply

