Uncategorized

Reading List (hopefully)

I got a lot of books for my birthday and I am looking foward to reading them (please note that my reading of these books is not an endorsement of any of these authors):

1) The Jesus of Suburiba: Have we Tamed the Son of God to Fit our Lifestyle? – Mike Erre.  Mike is the pastor down at Rock Harbor in Costa Mesa.  I went to their church a lot while I was down at Azusa Pacific and I really enjoyed it.

2)  Jesus wants to Save Christians: A Manifesto for the Church in Exile – Rob Bell and Don Golden.  This was a gift for my birthday from my friend Wes.  I have never actually finished a Rob Bell book yet.  I started both Velvet Elvis and Sex God, but didn’t have time finish them.  Because I didn’t own them, I was never able to come back to them.

3) The Historical Jesus: The Life of a Mediterranean Jewish Peasant – J.D. Crossan.  Crossan is the most liberal of my authors I am reading right now.  I started reading this book at Archives earlier last semester.  I really enjoyed the first two pages, and am interested to see where Crossan lands at the end of this book.  Sarah was with me when I was first reading it and, as a good girlfriend, logged it in her memory and bought it for me all the way from China.

4) Surprised by Hope – N.T. Wright.  I am also interested to read this gift from Sarah (two books must mean that she really loves me).  I loved “The Challenge of Jesus” when I first read it.

5) The Fall of the Roman Empire: The Military Explanation – Arthur Ferrill.  I was reading about the fall of Rome on wikipedia and his theory sounded very intersting, so I bought the book.

On top of all my reading for my credential classes, I don’t know when I’m going to have time to read all of these, but I look forward to some interesting interaction with these texts here on the blog…

One thought on “Reading List (hopefully)

  1. Danny,
    Sounds like a well-rounded reading list…wow. I liked Scot McKnight’s A NEW VISION FOR ISRAEL. It, like NT Wright’s stuff, looks at Jesus in his 1st century Second Temple Judaism culture.
    God bless!
    John

Leave a Reply

