Uncategorized

I think what I want is…

Erin has an interesting post on her blog that I was reading today.  She said:

“In all my experience as a Christian, it would seem that Jesus’ goal wasn’t to start a new religion, it was to end all religions; it was for the message that love, not right belief or right action, is the prime directive. He didn’t want to save people from their sins, he wanted to save people from themselves and from each other. So, Jesus was all about a feeling, rather than thinking or doing. The Jews of his time didn’t like this, because they had religion all thought out; all the thou-shalts and thou-shalt-nots were settled. So they saw this idea of love (rather than right/wrong) as a threat to their religion, because without rules to control sin, how would Messiah ever come?”

I think that she brings up a good point.  Although I don’t think he meant to end all religions, I do believe his message was that love should be what Erin refers to as the “prime directive.”  I have been thinking a lot about systems lately, and I think it was Teyve in Fiddler on the Roof who notes that without his Jewish traditions his people’s way of life “would be as shaky as a Fiddler on the Roof.”  I think that we are scared to find out who Jesus really is.  I think I am scared to find out who Jesus really is.  Instead I would rather sit on the benches of an all white church (nothing wrong with an all white church in and of itself, but what they have come to mean in this present world is something much more than just one group of one race coming together to worship God) than go out and really be the church.

What does it mean to be the church?  It means to live like Christ lived in community with other Christ followers.  Here I would like to quote Rufus Jones (thanks to Mr. Daniels for this quote):

“I am looking for a time, and counting on it, when we shall have a Society of Friends not composed of a few awakened leaders and a body of unkindled quiescent members who move in the ancient grooves of habit and routine. But instead a live membership of persons who have thought out their principles of life and not merely adopted them second hand.”

I think what I want is a group of people who call themselves followers of Christ who are willing to think about what they believe.

2 thoughts on “I think what I want is…

  1. Yikes, I went over to Erin’s post and then to Jon’s, and had to stop before I got too far into the web! But I had to come back and give a resounding AMEN! for your post.

  2. Thanks for the mention. I completely agree with that Rufus Jones quote. I’m trying, but sometimes it’s ugly and leads us off on tangents…this having to think it out rather than adopting it is an interesting journey.

Leave a Reply

