church · Worship

Modern Worship

Over at Jesus Manifesto, there is a good article about the individualism inherent in much modern music written by Jason Winston.  I did a series on worship a while back that I am in the process of revamping, but the question really is so important.  Are we, as Joel Klampert argues in his interview at consuming worship (part 1 here and part 2 here), that “some churches are all about modern and forget about the Church fathers and those who went before us”  (Father Stephen has also written a wonderful article recently on tradition that I would recommend).  This is more of a question up for discussion for my readers.  Do you think that modern worship is too individualistic?

One thought on “Modern Worship

  1. Without reading the posts you are referring too, I will presumptuously go ahead and answer your question. “Modern Worship” as you call it is individualistic insofar as it has lost its’ Eucharistic element of sharing and remembering together. We sing alone, using words like “I,” “me,” and “my.” It’s just not expected of people, to see worship as a communal practice… it’s not taught that way.

Leave a Reply

