culture · Les Miserables

Les Miserables – Part 2

Victor Hugo uses the Bishop in the first part of the story as a critique on the church at large (or at least this is my modern interpretation of the Bishop).  When the Bishop arrives–formerly a worldly man of nobility–he looks at his context.  He lives in quite a large house and the hospital next to him can hold hardly 30 beds if they squeeze them in.  When he realizes that his house could hold twice as many hospital beds, he is insistent that the hospital and his house should switch places.  What would the church look like if this were the case?  For instance, instead of these methods of evangelism like Contagious Christian, the church simply met somewhere smaller and turned the sanctuary into a ward to take care of a hospital.  Thinking about the size of the church I go to right now, we could hold about twenty patients in the sanctuary.

Or a more down-to-earth example.  What if a pastor challenged, rather than reading the bible everyday (I am not downplaying this, but for the example it is necessary), to find one homeless person and offer them hospitality for nothing?  This would be a revolutionary movement in the church.  There are about 50 families and singles in the church that I go to (plus or minus a few) and that would be 50 homeless people off the street.

The bishop is also thrifty.  Look at his church budget:

EXPENSES OF CARRIAGE AND CIRCUIT.

  For furnishing meat soup to the patients in the hospital. 1,500 livres   For the maternity charitable society of Aix . . . . . . .   250   "   For the maternity charitable society of Draguignan  . . .   250   "   For foundlings  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   500   "   For orphans   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   500   "                                                             -----        Total  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3,000   "   What would our churches look like if our budget looked like this? Just some food for thought.
2 thoughts on “Les Miserables – Part 2

  1. I want you to know that I love your post and especailly blog. Your blog is one of my favoirtes and I read it almost every day. I want you to know that you are in my prayers. I pray God will give you the strength you need.
    In Him,
    Kinney Mabry

  2. Thanks Kinney,
    I really appreciate it that your prayers are with me. I am just about to finish with college, and I will need strength to live a Christ centered life in such a culture as America. I am sure you know this better than I.

Leave a Reply

