Uncategorized

Wes came out of his theology and ethics class today.

“Theology was interesting today,” Wes said.

“How so?” I asked.

“We talked about moral absolutes and relativism today. I told my professor that we could not know right and wrong outside of our context.”

“What did she say to that?”

“Well, she talked about how our generation just never grew up with absolutes. We were never taught it in schools. I just can’t understand where she is coming from. How can we live outside of our context?”

“Couldn’t you make the same argument back to her?” I asked. “I mean, couldn’t you say that she didn’t grow up with contextualization?”

“She used the analogy of a tree falling in the forest. If no one is there, does it still make a sound? Do we have to be present for reality to take place?”

“How did you guys end the conversation?”

“The conversation meandered.  We ended up talking about drinking.  She asked if it was all right for us to drink in ministry settings.”

“Really?” I said.

“Yep,” Wes said. “I’m twenty-two, and I’m drinkin’ if I’m at a pub.”

Leave a Reply

