Uncategorized

Famous Pastors – Part 1

He stands up in front of a crowd of 16,000 flashing a confident white smile that he is so well known for. In a congregation hardly known for liturgy, they always begin the service the same way in their holy sanctuary–the former Compaq Center:

“This is my bible,” they confess together. “I am what it says I am, I have it says I have, I can do what it says I can do. Today I will be taught the word of God. I boldly confess my mind is alert, my heart is receptive, and I will never be the same.  In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

On the other side of the world, another pastor–hardly known for smiling–preaches in a small church with less than 200 members. He boldly proclaims:

 

“The greatest heresy in the American evangelical and Protestant church is that if you pray and ask Jesus Christ to come into your heart, He will definitely come in.”

The former is pastor Joel Osteen and the latter is pastor Paul Washer. Both have a profound message for the world, but their messages are so different. They cannot both possibly be right, or can they? Washer is hell-bent on discrediting ministries that attempt to preach any kind of a “prosperity gospel,” and Osteen smiles as he suggests that “there are already enough people beating people over their heads with their Bibles. I want to give people hope.”

And it is exactly this message of hope that makes Osteen’s message so accessible to people. He boldly proclaims that God wants us to have our best life now, and thousands of Americans are responding all over the world. But Washer believes that his message is the “true gospel.” It is one that calls Christians to holiness and to be different from the world. But if you listen closely you will notice something missing from both of their versions of Christianity.

Neither suffers from a lack of extremes, but they both suffer from a lack of definitions. They both claim to be the solution to the Christian’s down-trodden state, but neither really coherently explain what they mean. Washer is against the world, but what does he mean by “the world?”  Osteen wants us to live the “good life,” but what does he mean by good life?  There are so many problems that could be resolved if these famous pastors would defining what they mean when they use terms like these.

 

5 thoughts on “Famous Pastors – Part 1

  1. Just a friendly question… how many Paul Washer sermons have you listened to in there entirety? Unfortunately most people judge his whole ministry based on his one sermon called the “Shocking Youth Message…”

    I think he does a good job of defining what he means by “world” in almost any of his messages on Romans 12:2… which can be found here:
    http://www.sermonaudio.com/search.asp?subsetitem2=12&subsetitem=Romans&subsetcat=bible&keyword=gcc&keywordDesc=Grace+Community+Church&SourceOnly=true&currSection=sermonssource

  2. Hi Matt,
    I listened to the first 15 minutes of the sermon. All I can get out of the sermons is that he likes to yell and talk in extremes. Sorry. I’m just not following it.

  3. helo,my dear in christ
    life without christ is it a life? job:8 verst 9

    as you i’m also a young pastor, that’s why i kept his words in my heart so that i still working in the light of JESUS christ our saviour.
    i’m african named AMOUZOU Richarles so my idea is to share the words of God among all nations and races of my area so that they rehang themselves but my situation don’t allowed me to do this.Then i used to pray that he helps me by some of his servants (1john:5 versets 13 to15 ) so that my comments be relized in the name of allmighty God .
    i have already create orphans’s education and food center just to help the poors of my area and snatch that opportunity to talk about God’s love to them but now i need a support,(they are so poor that rarely they find their dairly bead)
    but on the contrary like i’m walking in the blood of christ i’m more than rich,because i have spiritual riches through he whom save my life.so i beg you to do somethings for tem by the will of God if you just have the opportunities (hebrew :6 verst 10).
    That God bless your hands so that you can help us by the fruits of your bénediction and direct your heart to the good choice

    we are all is vanity world, because we are strangers and we have to try to Widen God’s truths family
    it is for These reasons I appeal you for the works which I have already started, please, because I need support and whatever,From certain moments I will send you my pictures and that of it I have already carried out
    I can assure you that I am from a French country but I try my best to speak English
    I am not even a Minister but I try my best to help just the people (people) in these acts by the love of God that’s why I implor you to come to my support

  4. My dear Pastor AMOUZOU RICHARLES,
    Greetings of Lord be with you. I live in Ethiopia which is poor but the christian country. i am christian in Ethiopian life word church and serving my Gog.
    So, please Pastor i want to contact with you if you ,i want to join your support.
    Realy pastor i am lacky because of to this contacting with you .
    So , Dear Pastor if you help me forward by spiritually or personally ,
    please take it my full address.
    Temesegn Zewdie
    Po box 1754 south region Hawassa Ethiopia

Leave a Reply

