Paul

2 Corinthians

The air is soft early in the morning as the sand shuffles slightly under his shifting feet.  I wonder how cold it is on the other side of the world, and how cold it would have been two thousand years ago.  These are the types of things that keep me up at night.  I wonder what life must have been like for the apostle Paul.

It keeps me up at night because I have to teach a lesson on Sunday about 2 Corinthians, and I feel like I know so little about the man who wrote the epistles I am going to teach on.  The man is so mysterious.  So much has been lost with time.  Scholars think that there are many other letters that were also written by Paul, and that there were also other letters written by the Corinthians to Paul, but all have been lost with time.

And it all just seems too big to be true.  Too big to be real.  I cannot fathom the type of world that Paul would have lived in.

Lord Jesus, I pray that you would, by your divine spirit, allow me to understand the words you have allowed your servant Paul to write to the Corinthians so long ago.  Lord Jesus, you are the only one who can transform me from the man that I am to the follower of Jesus Christ that I need to be.  Lord Jesus, it is only in your wisdom that I can attain the true and perfect wisdom of God.  I pray that the same Spirit that empowered Paul, whom you changed from Saul, would empower me to teach your students to be good stewards of your word to all the nations.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

